Writing Prompt: In your own time…

I suddenly find I have a lot of time on my hands. I’m on “gardening leave” from my company for a few months and while I miss the buzz of the office, I’m realising I have some time to get back to writing and learning things I’ve been too busy this past year to take up.

It’s funny, How often have we said, “if I had the time, I’d…”? Well, now that i have the time, I’m not squandering it. I know how rare it is to be master of your own fate, even if only for a little while. So, for the next two months, you’re going to be hearing a lot more from me.

Back in January, I posted a list of books I wanted to get through before the end of the year. I’m 4 into that list, or 4 behind depending on how you look at it. I plan to catch up. I’ve just started “As I lay Dying” – by William Faulkner and find that it’s the style that impresses me. When a story is pieced together by different points of view, it’s easier to see the whole picture, even if it comes together bit by bit like a jigsaw.

 Try this: Put together a narrative told from the point of view of no less than five characters. It’s harder than you think to weave together a story without favouring one voice too much over another, but it’s a good way to practice changes in point of view.

Have fun. See you tomorrow.

One thought on “Writing Prompt: In your own time…

Add yours

  1. I love Faulkner’s style… I recently read “the sound and the fury” and even though it was difficult to read, (especially the first two chapters) I really enjoyed it.
    And of course while reading it I kept thinking, “there is no way I’ll ever be able to write something that can even come close to this!” I guess that’s the down side of reading the literary masterpieces 🙂
    Enjoy your free time and happy writing!

Leave a comment

Up ↑